Mobilising Young Surveyors toward Globally Impactful Causes - The VCSP Core Team

Claire Buxton (Canada), Roshni Sharma (Australia), Michelle Nagawa (Uganda), Jordan Palk (Canada) and Angela Omamuyovwi Etunovbe (Nigeria)

Key words:Capacity building; Education; e-Governance; Professional practice; Risk management;
Young surveyor; Diversity and inclusion; Remote team engagement; Project
management

SUMMARY

Pulling together a group of 18 young surveyors across eight timezones to connect other young surveyors with opportunities to volunteer as humanitarian surveyors is a challenge. A challenge that the Volunteer Community Surveyor Program (VCSP) have tackled head on and to this day, have been successful. The VCSP is run, and lead, by young surveyors. The results are continued scaling up of the VCSP and is a feat that shows young surveyors have the dedication, creativity, and soul to create impact and a strong future for our profession.

Over the VCSP's life-span, the Core Team, in collaboration with our Partners, have deployed 20 young surveyors in Africa and Asia-Pacific, held two e-Volunteering events, and two Wisdom Workshops. These require months of planning, communicating, and collaborating with people across different disciplines, ages, cultures, and genders. Breaking through silos and interacting beyond differences, we support each other as the VCSP Core Team because we have a shared vision.

With this paper, we wish to share our story on how we have created a sustainable structure for continuously evolving geospatial excellence to support better living for marginalised communities and support climate action. This has been through strategic planning, skill development in project management and governance, succession planning, and consistency. This paper showcases the methods we have employed to create an inclusive culture that facilitates more than just diversity but moves it towards equity and belonging.

Mobilising Young Surveyors toward Globally Impactful Causes - The VCSP Core Team (11479) Claire Buxton (Canada), Roshni Sharma (Australia), Michelle Nagawa (Uganda), Jordan Palk (Canada) and Angela Omamuyovwi Etunovbe (Nigeria)